Tier II Reporting Fees by State
EPCRA Tier II is a federal report, but the fee, if there is one, is set by your state. Some states charge nothing, some charge per chemical, some by pounds stored or by employees, and some only pass on E-Plan's filing charge. This table covers the 50 states and the District of Columbia we have written guides for. Each fee description is taken from our state guide, which quotes the state agency, statute or rule; follow the state link for the full detail and sources.
- State fee or assessment (25): Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Hawaii, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Missouri, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Texas, Vermont, Wisconsin.
- No state fee (11): Alabama, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wyoming.
- E-Plan's $25 fee only (3): Georgia, Mississippi, New York.
- No fee published; confirm with the state (11): Alaska, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Rhode Island, West Virginia.
- Set locally (1): California.
“No fee published” means we found no fee on the state's own Tier II pages but also no statement that there is none, or that the law sets a ceiling or leaves the amount to rule. Fees change; confirm the current amount with the state before you pay, and remember that your LEPC or fire department may charge separately.
Tier II fees, state by state
| State | Fee | Details |
|---|---|---|
| Alabama | No state fee No state fee; E-Plan charges $25 if you use it | There is no state fee. E-Plan charges $25 per year per facility, according to ADEM, while submitting a Tier2 Submit file costs nothing. |
| Alaska | Not stated: confirm None listed | Alaska DEC's Tier II page does not mention a filing fee. That is not an explicit no-fee statement, so confirm with DEC. |
| Arizona | State fee $75 + $20/report, max $500; increase proposed | Yes. Under A.A.C. R18-18-107, ADEQ charges $75 for the first required facility report and $20 for each additional one, up to $500 per annual reporting period. ADEQ has an active rulemaking to increase the fees and adjust the caps, so check the current amount before paying. |
| Arkansas | State fee $50 + $10/chemical, max $1,000 | Yes. For the 2025 reporting year ADEM charges $50 for the first reportable chemical and $10 for each additional chemical, up to $1,000 per facility. Government facilities pay no fee, and oil and gas leases are each treated as a facility with a $200 fee. |
| California | Set locally CUPA fees vary by jurisdiction | California uses the Hazardous Materials Business Plan, filed in CERS and administered by your local Certified Unified Program Agency (CUPA), rather than a separate state Tier II filing. CUPA fees vary by jurisdiction, so confirm the current program fees with your local CUPA. |
| Colorado | State fee $10 facility + $10/chemical, max $1,000 | Yes. CDPHE charges a $10 facility fee plus $10 for each Tier II chemical over the EPA thresholds (and $25 per TRI chemical for Section 313 reporters), capped at $1,000 per reporting organization. Agricultural businesses with NAICS codes beginning 111 to 115 are exempt from the fees. |
| Connecticut | Not stated: confirm None listed; Hazconnect is free | The Connecticut SERC calls Hazconnect a free system and its pages list no Tier II filing fee, but there is no explicit no-fee statement; confirm with DEEP. |
| Delaware | Not stated: confirm Fee may apply; schedule not published | DNREC says facilities may be subject to an annual fee based on the number and type of substances reported, with exemptions for certain substances and facilities, and no fee for safety data sheet reporting. The schedule is not published on DNREC's page, so confirm the amount with DNREC. |
| District of Columbia | Not stated: confirm None listed | HSEMA's page does not mention a Tier II filing fee. That is not an explicit no-fee statement, so confirm with HSEMA. |
| Florida | State fee $25 to $2,000 by employees | Yes. Florida's SERC How to Comply Manual sets an annual registration fee of $2.50 or $10 per employee, with a $25 minimum and a $2,000 maximum, paid through E-Plan by March 1. Certain gas, LP gas and storage-tank facilities without an Extremely Hazardous Substance pay $2.50 per employee (maximum $500), Section 302 facilities pay a one-time $50 filing fee, and governmental bodies are exempt. |
| Georgia | E-Plan fee only $25 E-Plan fee (UT Dallas) | Georgia EPD's filing guidance says the University of Texas at Dallas, which administers E-Plan, charges a $25.00 facility filing fee paid during the upload. It is not a fee paid to the State of Georgia, and the guidance dates from 2018, so confirm the current amount. |
| Hawaii | State fee $200 per facility | Yes. The HEER Office charges $200 per facility, payable to the State of Hawaii HEER Office. State facilities may pay by journal voucher and military facilities are exempt. |
| Idaho | Not stated: confirm None listed | We found no Tier II filing fee in IOEM's materials, but no explicit no-fee statement either. The Idaho DEQ 'Tier II operating permit' fee is an unrelated air-quality permit fee. |
| Illinois | Not stated: confirm None listed | IEMA-OHS's Tier II page lists no state filing fee, but there is no explicit no-fee statement, so confirm with IEMA-OHS. Illinois does require electronic Safety Data Sheets to be attached to each Tier II chemical entry in Hazconnect. |
| Indiana | State fee $50 / $100 / $200 by facility type | Yes. Under Indiana Code 13-25-2-10.4 the annual fee is $200 for facilities with at least 1,000,000 pounds of a hazardous chemical, $100 for other facilities over the reporting thresholds, and $50 for facilities reporting only underground storage tanks. A $20 late fee applies to the $100 category if unpaid by March 1. Government agencies and political subdivisions are exempt. |
| Iowa | Not stated: confirm None listed | Iowa DNR's Tier 2 materials do not list a state filing fee. Because that is an absence rather than an explicit statement, confirm with Iowa DNR before you file. |
| Kansas | State fee $25 to $300 by pounds, max $3,000 | Yes. Under K.S.A. 65-5704 the annual fee depends on the total pounds reported: $25 to $300 for hazardous chemicals and $25 to $150 for Extremely Hazardous Substances, with separate fees for TRI Form R reporters and a $3,000 annual cap per owner or operator, excluding late fees. |
| Kentucky | State fee $40 or $250 by category | Yes. Under 106 KAR 1:081 the fee is $40 for a Category Two facility (ten or fewer substances, under 500,000 pounds) and $250 for Categories Three, Four and Five, including any facility with an Extremely Hazardous Substance. Government facilities exempt by statute pay nothing, and one owner pays no more than $250 for all its fee-paying facilities in a county. |
| Louisiana | State fee $65 to $255 by chemicals, max $2,000 | Yes. The Louisiana State Police fee worksheet sets $65 for 1 to 25 chemicals, $85 for 26 to 75, $170 for 76 to 100 and $255 for over 100, up to a statewide maximum of $2,000. Small businesses with nine or fewer employees and under $2 million in gross receipts pay $25, and government agencies are exempt. |
| Maine | State fee Registration + inventory fees, max $5,000 | Yes. Maine's SERC fee rule sets an annual registration fee plus inventory fees, capped at $5,000 per facility, with exemptions for commercial agricultural operations and for retail petroleum marketers up to 75,000 pounds of petroleum products. Confirm current amounts with MEMA. |
| Maryland | State fee $100 + inventory fees, max $1,000 | Yes. MDE charges a $100 application fee per facility for each type of report plus inventory fees based on each chemical's weight range, with a cap of $1,000 a year per owner or operator. Government agencies, charitable organizations, farmers, gasoline retailers and marinas are not subject to the fees. |
| Massachusetts | No state fee No state fee; some localities charge | The Commonwealth of Massachusetts does not impose a filing fee, according to the SERC, but some local jurisdictions do require one. |
| Michigan | No state fee No fee | No. EGLE's Michigan Facilities' Guide to SARA Title III states that there is no fee associated with reports submitted in Tier II Manager. |
| Minnesota | Not stated: confirm Set by rule; confirm amount | Minn. Stat. 299K.09 directs the commission to set, by rule, an annual fee paid when the inventory form is submitted and a late fee. The current amounts are in rule rather than statute; confirm them with the Minnesota EPCRA Program. |
| Mississippi | E-Plan fee only $25 E-Plan fee (UT Dallas) | E-Plan's administrator, the University of Texas at Dallas, charges a $25 facility filing fee during the upload, according to MEMA. It is paid to UT Dallas, not to the state. |
| Missouri | State fee $100 + $20/substance if over 3, max $10,000 | Yes. Under RSMo 292.606 each reporting employer pays $100 a year plus an additional $20 for each hazardous substance or mixture when more than three are reported, capped at $10,000 a year. Petroleum retail facilities pay no more than $50 per facility and pipeline operators $250 per county. Local governments and family-owned farms are exempt. |
| Montana | No state fee No fee | No. Montana DEQ states that Montana does not collect fees for the Tier II submittal. |
| Nebraska | Not stated: confirm None listed | We found no Tier II filing fee in Nebraska's statute or DWEE's Tier II pages, but that is not an explicit statement that none exists. Confirm with DWEE. |
| Nevada | State fee $150 + $60 Fire Marshal; SERC $100+ | Yes. The State Fire Marshal charges a $150 permit plus a $60 surcharge per facility, and the SERC charges $100 per reporting facility plus $100 per ton of Extremely Hazardous Substance over one ton, with SERC fees capped at $7,500 per company per year. Federal facilities are exempt from both. |
| New Hampshire | No state fee No fee | No. New Hampshire's Division of Fire Safety states there are no Tier II reporting fees in New Hampshire. |
| New Jersey | State fee Right to Know assessment, $75+ | New Jersey's Right to Know Act has the Department of Labor assess covered employers an annual fee of at least $75 and up to $4 per employee. It is a program assessment rather than a per-survey filing fee, and employers with no environmental hazardous substances are exempt. Confirm with NJDEP. |
| New Mexico | State fee $25 to $250 by chemicals, max $250 | Yes. DHSEM charges $25 for 1 to 3 chemicals per facility, rising in $25 steps to $250 for 28 or more, with total payment capped at $250 even across several facilities. Government agencies are exempt, and fines up to $5,000 may apply if the correct payment is not received by March 1. |
| New York | E-Plan fee only $25 per facility via E-Plan (as of 2014) | Outside New York City, Tier II reports go to the State Emergency Response Commission through the Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services (DHSES), online through E-Plan with a $25 filing fee per facility (the figure DHSES gives as of 2014) or as a mailed hard copy. Your county LEPC and fire department decide whether they accept the electronic submission. Facilities inside New York City send their Tier II submissions to the NYC Department of Environmental Protection. |
| North Carolina | State fee $50/chemical, $90/EHS, max $5,000 | Yes. Under G.S. 166A-29.1 North Carolina charges $50 for each hazardous chemical and $90 for each Extremely Hazardous Substance reported at a site, up to $5,000 per reporting site per year, collected through E-Plan. Exemptions include family farm enterprises and facilities owned by state or local government. |
| North Dakota | State fee Per chemical, max $950 per facility | Yes. North Dakota charges an annual fee per chemical listed on the Tier II form, up to a maximum of $950 per facility, with exemptions for family farm enterprises and state or local government facilities. The per-chemical amount is set by the division director, and cities may have their own fees. |
| Ohio | State fee $150 + $20/chemical | Yes. Ohio Administrative Code 3750-50-01 sets an annual inventory filing base fee of $150 plus $20 for each hazardous chemical at or above its threshold, with additional fees for Extremely Hazardous Substances. Fees are due by March 1 and paid through Ohio EPA's eBusiness Center; unpaid fees after March 31 carry a late fee of 10 percent per year. |
| Oklahoma | State fee $12 or $15/$30 per substance, max $1,000 | Yes. Under OAC 252:20-1-7, oil and gas production facilities and agriculture chemical dealerships pay $12 per reported facility, and other facilities pay $15 per hazardous substance and $30 per Extremely Hazardous Substance, up to $1,000 per company. Card payments add a 2.25% merchant fee and a $2 portal fee; ACH adds a $1 portal fee. |
| Oregon | State fee Possession fee graduated by hazard | Yes. Oregon's Hazardous Substance Possession Fee under ORS 453.402 is based on the substance reported in the highest amount and graduated by its hazard under OAR 837-090. It also funds DEQ programs, and the Department of Revenue mails the fee statements in November. |
| Pennsylvania | State fee $10 per chemical | Yes. Act 165 of 1990 sets a hazardous chemical fee of $10 for each reportable hazardous chemical, due by March 1 each year. PA L&I accepts payment only by check or money order made payable to the Pennsylvania Hazardous Material Response Fund. |
| Rhode Island | Not stated: confirm None listed | Rhode Island DEM's Tier II page does not mention a filing fee. That is not an explicit no-fee statement, so confirm with DEM. |
| South Carolina | No state fee No state fee; ask your LEPC and fire department | The state charges no Tier II reporting fee, according to SCDES, but it tells facilities to contact their county LEPC and local fire department about fees and local requirements. |
| South Dakota | State fee $50 to $300 by chemicals | Yes. DANR charges per facility by chemical count: $50 for 1 to 3 reportable chemicals, $100 for 4 to 9, $200 for 10 to 18 and $300 for 19 or more, with a $15 or 10% late penalty after April 1. |
| Tennessee | No state fee No state fee; required E-Plan charges $25 | The State of Tennessee charges nothing, but E-Plan, the state's required filing system, charges $25.00 per facility per report, paid directly to E-Plan. |
| Texas | State fee $50 to $500 by facility type and chemicals | Yes. Under TCEQ's fee guidance, manufacturing facilities pay $100 for 25 or fewer reportable hazardous chemicals, rising in steps to $500 for 101 or more; non-manufacturing and public employer facilities pay $50 for 75 or fewer and $100 for 76 or more. |
| Utah | No state fee No fee | No. Utah DEQ says there are currently no Tier 2 report filing fees for Utah. |
| Vermont | State fee $40 to $880 per chemical + $250/EHS | Yes. Vermont charges per reported chemical by weight range: $40 for 100 to 999 pounds, $60, $100 and $290 for higher ranges, and $880 for 1,000,000 pounds or more, plus $250 for each Extremely Hazardous Substance. State agencies, municipalities, non-profits and farms are exempt. |
| Virginia | No state fee No fee | No. Virginia DEQ states that Virginia requires no payment for Tier II report submissions. |
| Washington | No state fee No fee | No. The Department of Ecology states that reporting is free and there are no fees to submit a Tier Two report. |
| West Virginia | Not stated: confirm Authorized up to $2,500; confirm amount | State law (W. Va. Code 15-5A-5(j)) authorizes an annual inventory form fee of up to $2,500 per facility, a planning notification fee of up to $100, and a late surcharge of up to 20 percent. Those are ceilings; confirm the current amount with WV Emergency Management. |
| Wisconsin | State fee $275 to $2,090 by chemicals | Yes. Under WEM 1.04(7) the fee ranges from $275 for one chemical under 100,000 pounds to $2,090 for over 500 chemicals at 100,000 pounds or more, with $35 for temporary construction facilities and batch plants. Exemptions are set out in WEM 1.07. |
| Wyoming | No state fee No fee | No. The Wyoming SERC states that Wyoming does not charge a filing fee. |
Use this table in your own tool or spreadsheet: CSV · JSON. Free to reuse under CC BY 4.0; credit SDSentry with a link to this page. Tracking Tier II chemicals across sites? SDSentry keeps your SDS inventory ready for filing →
What the fee does not change
Whatever your state charges, the federal trigger is the same: a hazardous chemical that requires a safety data sheet on site at or above 10,000 pounds at any one time, or an Extremely Hazardous Substance at or above 500 pounds or its Threshold Planning Quantity, whichever is lower. Several states go much further (Alaska, Delaware, Oregon and Vermont set far lower thresholds, and Nevada adds fire-code quantities), so check your state guide or our Tier II thresholds by state list. For the federal basics, see EPCRA Tier II Reporting: Does Your Facility Need to File? and Who Do You File Tier II With?
Frequently asked questions
Which states charge a Tier II filing fee?
Of the 50 states and the District of Columbia we cover, these charge a state Tier II fee or assessment: Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Hawaii, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Missouri, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Texas, Vermont, Wisconsin. Amounts, caps and exemptions differ widely; see each state's row.
Which states have no Tier II fee?
These states say they charge no state Tier II fee: Alabama, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wyoming. Some of them note that E-Plan or local agencies may still charge.
Does E-Plan charge a fee?
According to the Georgia, Mississippi and Tennessee agencies, E-Plan, administered by the University of Texas at Dallas, charges a $25 facility filing fee paid during the upload. It is paid to UT Dallas, not to the state.
Most SDS software stops at the safety data sheets. OSHA HazCom asks an employer for five things: a written program, a chemical list, container labels, SDS access and employee training. SDSentry covers all five in one product and builds the written program from your own chemical list. See how 11 SDS tools compare on all five →
SDSentry keeps your SDS library, GHS labels and HazCom training records in one place — OSHA deadline price: $24 per location a month, or $199 a year (regularly $49). Start by November 20, 2026 to lock it in.
Unlimited users and no SDS cap. On an annual plan that is less than any paid SDS tool we compared.
Start 7-day free trial Compare SDS software prices →