⏰ OSHA HazCom deadline — November 20, 2026: employers must update their workplace labels, written HazCom program, and employee training to the new GHS format by then. Check your program free — 2-minute self-audit →
Guides / HazCom Software Compliance Comparison

Which SDS Software Helps You Meet All Five OSHA HazCom Requirements? 11 Tools Scored

Vendor sites checked October 13–14, 2026 · Updated October 14, 2026

Short answer: most SDS software covers the safety data sheets and stops there. OSHA's Hazard Communication Standard asks an employer for five things: a written program with a chemical list, labels on workplace containers, SDSs employees can reach without barriers, and training. Of the 11 tools below, SDSentry is the only one whose own product pages show all of them inside the product, including a written HazCom program generated from your chemical inventory.

Why it matters: HazCom was OSHA's #2 most-cited standard in fiscal 2025 (3,010 citations), and a serious violation can be fined up to $16,550. In 138 federal HazCom citations we reviewed, 91% of the penalty dollars were cited under the written-program (e) and training (h) paragraphs, the two things most SDS software leaves out.

Read this first. OSHA does not approve, certify or endorse any software (OSHA letter, 1995), so no tool, including ours, is “OSHA compliant” by itself. Compliance is the employer's. The question this page answers is narrower and checkable: which parts of 1910.1200 does each tool help you do, according to the vendor's own website? “Not stated” means we could not find it on the vendor's site; it does not mean the feature does not exist. Vendors: send corrections to dale.weaver@0xpi.com and we will update the table.

How much of HazCom each tool helps you cover

SDSentry is the only one of the 11 that covers all five HazCom requirements inside the product. The next closest scores 4 of 5: its written program is a template download and its training is a separate product.

SDSentry5 of 5
written program generated from your inventory, chemical list, labels, no-login SDS access, training sign-offs
VelocityEHS (MSDSonline)4 of 5
written program is a template download; training is a separate product
SafeSheet3.5 of 5
written program as checklists; you upload SDS PDFs; training log
SDS Manager3 of 5
no written program stated; no-login access on Premium+; training is a separate product
MSDSsource3 of 5
no written program stated; list and labels partial by tier
Mitti (formerly SafetyCulture)3 of 5
SDS features via SDS Manager; written program is a free template
Chemwatch3 of 5
no written program stated; employee access not stated
Chemical Safety2.5 of 5
no written program stated; training in a separate suite
EcoOnline2.5 of 5
no written program stated; training is a separate eLearning product
ChemAlert (RMT)2.5 of 5
no written program stated; no HazCom training stated
SDS BinderWorks2 of 5
no written program or training stated

How the score works: one point for each of the five requirements below — written program (e)(1), chemical list (e)(1)(i), secondary-container labels (f)(6), SDS library with employee access (g), and training (h). A requirement the vendor shows inside the product on any plan scores 1; partial, a separate product, or a template/checklist scores ½; not stated on the vendor’s own website scores 0. Checked October 2026. Not stated is not the same as absent: ask the vendor. OSHA does not certify any software, and compliance stays with the employer — the score measures how much of the work each tool helps you do, not whether a business using it is compliant.

What HazCom actually requires of an employer

Side-by-side: who covers which requirement

Yes = shown on the vendor's site as part of the product · Partial = limited, tier-restricted or via a partner · Separate = sold as a different product or a free template · Not stated = not found on the vendor's site.

Tool Written HazCom program (e)(1) Chemical list by location (e)(1)(i) Secondary container labels (f)(6) SDS library (g)(1) No-login employee access (g)(8) HazCom training + tracking (h) New-revision alerts 2024 update on product pages Published price
SDSentry Yes — generated from your inventoryYesYesYes Yes — QR binder, no accountYes — per-chemical training sheets + sign-offs YesYes$24/location/mo, unlimited users
SDS Manager Not statedYes (Premium)Yes (Basic+)Yes Partial — Premium+ (not Free)Separate — Safety Training product Yes (Premium+)Blog onlyFree to 200 SDSs; Premium from $468/yr
SafeSheet Checklists onlyYesYes (Professional+)Partial — you upload PDFs YesPartial — training log Review remindersYes$29–$99/mo
VelocityEHS (MSDSonline) Separate — template downloadYesYesYes YesSeparate — Training product Not statedYesQuote only
Chemical Safety Not statedYesPartial — not in SDS BasicYes Not statedSeparate — EHS Suite (quote) Not statedNot stated$69–$149/mo
MSDSsource Not statedPartial — location tagsPartial — Blue/Gold tiersYes Yes — public QR optionYes — “passport” tests PartialNot stated (cites HCS 2012)$1,299/yr; higher tiers quote
SDS BinderWorks Not statedYesPartial — SDSprime+Yes Not stated (QR in SDSprime+)Not stated YesNot statedFrom $784/yr (200 SDSs)
Mitti (formerly SafetyCulture) Separate — free templatePartial — via SDS ManagerPartial — via SDS ManagerPartial — via SDS Manager Partial — via SDS ManagerYes — HazCom course Partial — via SDS ManagerNot stated$24–$29/seat/mo + SDS Manager Premium
EcoOnline Not statedYesPartial — help docs, EU CLP framingYes Partial — QR; login not statedSeparate — eLearning product Updates; alerts not statedBlog onlyQuote only
Chemwatch Not statedYesYesYes Not statedPartial — Australian course YesNot statedQuote only
ChemAlert (RMT) Not statedYesYes — label stockYes Not statedSoftware training only PartialNot statedQuote only

What the table shows

How to choose

  1. List what an inspector would ask you for today: the written program, your chemical list, labels on the spray bottles, SDS access on the floor, and proof of training.
  2. For each, ask the vendor where it lives in their product, not in a blog post or a separate subscription.
  3. Price the plan that actually includes all five, not the entry tier.

Start a 7-day free trial   or check where you stand first with the free HazCom self-audit (no signup).

Frequently asked questions

Is any SDS software “OSHA compliant”?

No software is OSHA approved or certified; OSHA does not review private products. A tool can help you meet specific requirements of 1910.1200, and the employer remains responsible for compliance.

Does OSHA require a written HazCom program if I have SDS software?

Yes. 1910.1200(e)(1) requires a written program at each workplace, including the list of hazardous chemicals, regardless of how you store your SDSs.

Can employees use a phone or QR code to reach SDSs?

Yes, if there are no barriers to immediate access during the shift (1910.1200(g)(8)). A login, a locked office computer or no signal where the chemicals are can count as barriers, so have a backup.

When is the HazCom 2024 deadline?

For employers, November 20, 2026 for substances and May 19, 2028 for mixtures, after OSHA's January 2026 extension (1910.1200(j)).

Sources

All vendor information is from the vendor's own public website on October 13–14, 2026. Features and prices change; check with the vendor before buying. Trademarks belong to their owners. SDSentry is not affiliated with OSHA or any vendor listed.